Tuesday, February 7, 2012

Copyright law, which has its origins in English law dating back to 1662, was written into the Constitution of the United States in 1887. Congress enacted the first federal copyright law(An Act for the Encouragement of Learning, by Securing the Copies of Maps, Charts and Books to the Authors and Proprietors of Such Copies) in May 1790 and the first work was registered two weeks later. In 1870 copyright functions were placed within the Library of Congress; the Copyright Office became a separate department within the Library of Congress in 1897. The copyright law has been revised repeatedly in, 1831,1870,1909 and 1976.
Copyright law applies to seven broad categories;
1. Literary works
2. Musical works
3. Dramatic works
4. Pantomimed and choreographed works
5. Pictorial, graphics and sculptural works
6. Motion pictures and audiovisual works
7. Sound recordings

No comments:

Post a Comment